There is a common misconception that one must be 21 years old to obtain a TAM® Card, but in reality TAM® training is available to individuals ages 16 and up. Remember, anyone who works in sales and service of alcoholic beverages, or in security at establishments that serve or sell alcoholic beverages in Southern Nevada must obtain an alcohol awareness card (Nevada Revised Statutes). Many minors and young adults work in positions that may require them to have their cards. Examples include cashiering or clerking at grocery and convenience stores. Workers ages 16-17 may handle sealed alcoholic beverages such as wine bottles or beer cans if they are employed at these types of establishments, as long as they are supervised by an adult.
Rules are different for hospitality professionals working at on-premises locations, and this is often where the confusion about alcohol awareness training regulations comes in. One must be 21 years or older to serve alcohol for consumption on the premises. In other words, if you work in a bar, restaurant, casino or other establishment where you are responsible for mixing or serving open alcoholic beverages, you must be of legal drinking age yourself. Additionally, one must also be 21 or older to be allowed inside a casino. These rules are applicable to individuals in positions such as bartenders, waiters, cocktail servers, etc.
Need help making sure you or your staff is in compliance with all applicable rules and regulations? Learn more about laws and regulations for servers and sellers of alcoholic beverages in Nevada and complete your mandatory alcohol awareness training with TAM®. Laws and statutes can be confusing because they are at the state, county, and city levels; and yes, there are additional gaming regulations in some cases. TAM training will cover all of these laws with you and make sure you understand the ways to reduce your risk and liability. Also remember to follow the rules of conduct laid out by your employer. Many companies have additional policies to maintain guest and employee safety, so make sure to check with your manager or supervisor about any extra procedures in place.
Saving lives means getting tough about DUIs. In an effort to improve safety and security of those on the road, Nevada may join the more than 25 states which require ignition interlock devices for first-time DUI offenders.
These devices, which are attached to a vehicle’s ignition system, are another tool which can be used to keep intoxicated drivers off the road. Before a driver can start their car, they must breathe into a breathalyzer device. If alcohol is detected on their breath, the car will not start.
A Nevada Senate panel is considering Senate Bill 259, which would mean big changes to Nevada state law. The bill proposes installing ignition interlock devices on vehicles of anyone arrested for driving under the influence, for a minimum of six months. In the current system, judges generally have discretion to order these devices for people arrested with exceptionally high blood-alcohol levels, or for repeat DUI offenders.
According to the CDC, ignition interlocks reduce repeat offenses for driving while intoxicated by about 70% while they are installed. So what do you think – would you like to see Nevada toughen up their rules of ignition interlocks for DUI offenders? Let us know in the Comments below.
Over 200,000 hospitality and service workers are employed in Clark County, most of who are required, by state law, to receive alcohol awareness training and carry an alcohol education card. How many of them work for you? Are you confident that your staff was properly trained to spot minors using fake I.D. and to take the risk seriously?
A recent news story out of California details the dangers of lax beverage service policies. The Camino Real Restaurant in Bakersfield had its liquor license suspended in 2011 for 20 days after employees served alcohol to a minor who later died in a DUI crash. This week the California Alcoholic Beverage Control has revoked the restaurant’s liquor license for serving alcohol to minors in a decoy operation; this happened while the restaurant was still on probation for the original 2011 offense.
California isn’t the only state to get tough on liquor laws. Nevada law enforcement agencies are working to strictly enforce state and local laws, and are performing routine decoy operations and sobriety checkpoints. In Nevada, hospitality workers who are caught serving minors may be charged with a misdemeanor which can result in up to 6 months in jail and up to a $1000 fine. Owners and managers of businesses that are caught selling alcohol to minors can also be issued citations and could face the revocation of their business licenses.
Every establishment needs policies and procedures to prevent underage persons from obtaining alcohol, and to protect themselves from liability, and the public from harm. Additionally, losing a liquor license means a loss of liquor revenue which can cripple an establishment’s profits. Decoy operations are not just used to catch those selling alcohol to minors, they can also be used to check the validity of your alcohol education card and whether it is expired. Make sure your TAM® training is up-to-date or sign up today for one of our alcohol awareness classes.
Don’t put yourself or your business at risk. Always ask for identification, and get educated on effective ways to help stop teen drinking.
© 2013 National Hospitality Institute®, TAM® of Nevada
Over 200,000 hospitality and service workers are employed in Clark County, most of whom are required, by state law, to receive alcohol awareness training and carry an Alcohol Education Card. Alcohol awareness training is mandatory for those who serve or sell alcoholic beverages or provide security services in casinos, restaurants, bars, clubs, and grocery/convenience stores in Clark and Washoe Counties. Many establishments also require anyone who handles alcoholic beverages and their managers and executive staff to carry cards. Do you already have your alcohol card? Great, but make sure to check the expiration date! TAM® Cards expire after four years, so don’t delay in staying current with your education.
There is a common misconception that one can “renew” their card by paying a fee or taking a short quiz, but law dictates one must re-take an approved alcohol awareness course every four years. Laws, policies and procedures, and even available alcohol products can go through considerable changes in four years, and it is very important for service professionals to be aware of those changes. The benefits of refreshing your education include staying up to date on current laws, refreshing knowledge about how alcohol affects the body and learning about what to watch out for, how to react to certain situations, and more.
There are some important points to consider as you determine how this information affects you:
- Providers of alcohol awareness training, such as TAM® of Nevada, must be approved through Nevada’s Commission on Postsecondary Education. Cards issued by providers and provider locations not on the approved provider list could be deemed invalid.
- Training can be taken online or in the classroom. If you’re interested in completing your training online, you can view our online course demo and sign up for a class here.
- All students must physically go to the provider’s approved school location to take an exam that is proctored and pass the proctored exam with a score of at least 75%. TAM® of Nevada has convenient proctoring hours six days a week for students to drop-in to take their exam and obtain a TAM® Card.
If you are concerned that your current card may be invalid, or if you’d like to register for an alcohol awareness course, you can reach TAM® of Nevada here. For more information on laws governing alcohol awareness training in Nevada, check out our blog post, “Call It What You May… There’s Only One TAM Card!”
© 2012 National Hospitality Institute®, TAM® of Nevada